left corner left corner
China Daily Website

17 new governors of Egypt sworn in

Updated: 2013-06-17 19:33
( Xinhua)

CAIRO - The 17 newly-appointed Egyptian governors were sworn in on Monday at presidency headquarters, state-run Nile TV reported.

On Sunday, President Mohamed Morsi decided to appoint 17 new governors and keep the other 10 unchanged.

The reshuffle includes the governors of Alexandria, Port Said, Ismailia, Matruh and Aswan.

According to state-run Al-Ahram news website, seven of the new governors are affiliated with the ruling Muslim Brotherhood's Freedom and Justice Party, and one from the Development and Construction Party, the political arm of the Islamic group Al- Jamaa al-Islamiya.

  • Group a building block for Africa

    An unusually heavy downpour hit Durban for two days before the BRICS summit's debut on African soil, but interest for a better platform for emerging markets were still sparked at the summit.