left corner left corner
China Daily Website  

Aung San Suu Kyi appointed as Myanmar's new foreign minister

Updated: 2016-03-30 15:25

Aung San Suu Kyi appointed as Myanmar's new foreign minister

Myanmar's new president Htin Kyaw (L) and National League for Democracy party leader Aung San Suu Kyi arrives to parliament in Naypyitaw March 30, 2016. [Photo/Agencies]

NAY PYI TAW - Chairperson of Myanmar's ruling National League for Democracy (NLD), Aung San Suu Kyi, was appointed on Wednesday as the country's new minister of foreign affairs, concurrently holding three other portfolios in the new government led by President-elect U Htin Kyaw.

The appointment was announced by Speaker of the Union Parliament U Mann Win Khaing Than at the government cabinet swearing-in ceremony.

Approved by the Union Parliament, the three other ministries headed by Aung San Suu Kyi are the Ministry of President Office, Ministry of Education and Ministry of Electricity and Energy.

In addition to Aung San Suu Kyi, five other MPs from the ruling NLD were appointed as ministers, including Dr. Aung Thu as minister of agriculture, livestock and irrigation, U Thant Zin Maung as minister of transportation and communication, Dr. Than Myint as minister of commerce, Dr. Win Myat Aye as minister of social welfare, relief and resettlement, and U Kyaw Win as minister of planning and finance.

Two MPs of the former ruling Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) were also assigned posts in the new cabinet, including Thura U Aung Ko as minister of religious affairs and culture, and U Thein Swe as minister of labor, immigration and population.

Seven non-parliamentarian outsider experts were also included in the list, namely U Ohn Win as minister of natural resources and environmental conservation, Dr. Pe Myint as minister of information, U Win Khaing as minister of construction, Nai Thet Lwin as minister of ethnic affairs, Dr. Myint Htwe as minister of health, U Khin Maung Cho as minister of industry and U Ohn Maung as minister of hotels and tourism.

Three military MPs, Lt. Gen. Sein Win, Lt. Gen. Kyaw Swe and Lt. Gen. Ye Aung, will serve as the minister of defense, minister of home affairs and minister of border affairs, respectively.

The new president earlier this month submitted a proposal of new government formation to the Union Parliament for approval. According to the proposal, 21 ministries will be formed and 18 ministers appointed, a cut from 36 and 32 respectively in the outgoing government.

  • Group a building block for Africa

    An unusually heavy downpour hit Durban for two days before the BRICS summit's debut on African soil, but interest for a better platform for emerging markets were still sparked at the summit.