left corner left corner
China Daily Website  

Australia win Women's World T20 final

Updated: 2014-04-06 20:14
( Xinhua)

Australia win Women's World T20 final

Australia's players celebrate with the winner's trophy after they won the ICC Twenty20 Women's World Cup title at the Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka April 6, 2014. [Photo/Agencies]

DHAKA - Australia Women beat England Women by six wickets in the final of the World T20 in Dhaka's Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on Sunday.

Meg Lanning's 44 runs off 30 balls guide the Australia women to their third consecutive World T20 title in the past four years after their bowlers restricted England to a sub-par total of 105 runs for 8 wickets in their 20 overs.

SJ Coyte picked up three wickets while RM Farrell and EA Perry claimed two wickets for Australia.

In reply, Australia chased down the target of 106 runs in 15.1 overs losing four wickets.

EA Perry contributed 31 runs to Australia's efforts to chase the target with six wickets in hand and finally clinch the match and T20 World Cup for the third time.

Australia won the toss and asked England to bat first.

HC Knight scored highest 29 runs for England.

R Sciver took two wickets for England while A Shrubsole and JL Gunn claimed one wicket each.