left corner left corner
China Daily Website  

South Sudan joins the EAC block

Updated: 2016-04-15 21:05
By Lucie Morangi (chinadaily.com.cn)

The East African Community will be welcoming its sixth member tomorrow.

President Salva Kiir and his counterpart John Pombe Magufuli of the United Republic of Tanzania are scheduled to sign the Treaty of Accession for the Republic of South Sudan in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

This comes about seven weeks after Heads of States from the five member block (Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Tanzania) agreed on admiting South Sudan as a new member following recommendations by the council of ministers.

The event will usher in a new beginning to the country that will now be required to adhere to principles of good governance, democracy, rule of law, observance of human rights, and social justice.

It also sends a positive sign of stability that had China playing an instrumental role in brokering peace in the young state while committing 700 troops on a peace keeping mission under the auspices of the United Nations.

In January, 2015, Chinese Foreign Minister Wang Yi arrived in Khartoum prior to the commencement of IGAD-led talks in Ethiopia where he met with delegations from the two warring factions. He later had talks with Sudan and Ethiopia's foreign affairs minister.

A unity government was formed with Riek Machar, the leader of the opposition who was named Vice President in February.

Unrest erupted in December 2013 when President Kiir and his former deputy had a falling out. It led to the displacement of hundreds of people.

The entry of South Sudan strengthens the integration agenda by adding 11.3 million people to the total population of 143.5 million found in the blocks, according to June 2013 figures.

  • Group a building block for Africa

    An unusually heavy downpour hit Durban for two days before the BRICS summit's debut on African soil, but interest for a better platform for emerging markets were still sparked at the summit.