left corner left corner
China Daily Website  

Central African countries to stablize Central African Republic

Updated: 2014-01-09 21:14
( Xinhua)

N'DJAMENA - The objective of the sixth extraordinary summit of the heads of state and governments from the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS), being held on Thursday in N'Djamena, is to reinforce efforts to restore security in the Central African Republic.

Speaking to Xinhua in the Chadian capital on Thursday, Ahmat Allami, the secretary general of the regional body, said the meeting will equally be used to urge the transition authorities in Bangui to put in more efforts towards achieving peace.

"If they (the transition authorities) cannot put in more efforts, then they should resign and leave those who are capable of bringing stability to take over in accordance with the transition agreement," he said.

Allami said Central African Republic's political actors should facilitate the international community, especially ECCAS, to help them, instead of adopting a passive attitude and fuelling instability using their networks.

"They should cease these games and understand the seriousness of the situation because their country is on the verge of collapsing; it is upon them to actively contribute to efforts to restore their country as soon as possible," he added.

Sao Tome & Principe President Manuel Pinto Da Costa, Cameroon's Prime Minister Philemon Yang as well as Central African Republic's President Michel Djotodia arrived in the Chadian capital on Wednesday evening.

Other sub-regional delegations, representatives from the United Nations, African Union as well as other partner organizations are expected to arrive for the extraordinary summit on Thursday.

ECCAS was created in 1983 with an objective of promoting regional integration in the Central Africa region. It is comprised of 10 countries that include Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Gabon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Sao Tome & Principe, Chad, Central African Republic and Equatorial Guinea.