left corner left corner
China Daily Website

Backgrounder: Winners of Nobel Prize in Chemistry since 2003

Updated: 2013-10-09 19:38
( Xinhua)

STOCKHOLM -- The following is a list of winners of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry since 2003:

2013: Martin Karplus (US and Austria), Michael Levitt (US, UK and Israel), Arieh Warshel (US and Israel);

2012: Robert J. Lefkowitz and Brian K. Kobilka (US);

2011: Daniel Schechtman (Israel);

2010: Richard F. Heck (US), Ei-ichi Negishi and Akira Suzuki (Japan);

2009: Venkatraman Ramakrishnan and Thomas A. Steitz (US), and Ada E. Yonath (Israel);

2008: Osamu Shimomura (Japan), Martin Chalfie and Roger Y. Tsien (US);

2007: Gerhard Ertl (Germany);

2006: Roger D. Kornberg (US);

2005: Yves Chauvin (France), Robert H. Grubbs and Richard R. Schrock (US);

2004: Aaron Ciechanover and Avram Hershko (Israel), Irwin Rose (US);

2003: Peter Agre and Roderick MacKinnon (US).

  • Group a building block for Africa

    An unusually heavy downpour hit Durban for two days before the BRICS summit's debut on African soil, but interest for a better platform for emerging markets were still sparked at the summit.